Massachusetts Beverage Business


AWARDS – 2nd Annual Ultimate Spirits Challenge

The Ultimate Beverage Challenge’s 2nd Annual Ultimate Spirits Challenge was held at Astor Center in New York on March 1 to 4. Nearly 6OO entries from scores of companies and nations were entered, with 27 USC Chairman’s Trophy honors awarded to the highest scoring spirits in their category. Finalist status was awarded on a category by category basis to the top performing products. Following multiple stages of competitive judging over the course of four days, Ultimate Spirits Challenge Chairman’s Trophy winners were arrived at based on their aggregate score on the 1OO-point scale. The judges were led by Judging Chairman F. Paul Pacult and Assistant Judging Chairman Sean Ludford and included Eric Alperin, Jacques Bezuidenhout, Tad Carducci, James Conley, Dale DeGroff, Doug Frost, Jim Meehan, Robert Plotkin, Julie Reiner, Jack Robertiello, Steve Olson, Andy Seymour, Aisha Sharpe, Willy Shine, Jennifer Simonetti-Bryan, and David Wondrich.
A complete list of results can be found at

Winners & Finalists 2O11
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Unflavored Finlandia, Finland
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY flavored Ketel One Citroen, Netherlands

CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Beefeater London Dry, UK

Tequila – Mexico
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY blanco Olmeca Plata, 1OO% Agave
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY reposado Cabo Wabo, 1OO% Agave
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Añejo Calle 23, 1OO% Agave
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY extra Añejo Grand Mayan, 1OO% Agave

Mezcal – Mexico
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY mezcal El Tinieblo Joven

CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Dos Maderas PX 5+5, Spain

Whiskey – US
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Bourbon George T. Stagg 17-Years -Old
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Rye Sazerac Straight 18 Years Old
Whiskey – Ireland
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Blended Michael Collins
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Single Malt Tyrconnell Madeira Finish 1O-Years-Old
Whisky – Scotland
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Single Malt-Cask Strength Aberlour a’bunadh
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Single Malt-Speyside The Balvenie Peated Cask 17-Years-Old
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Single Malt-Islands Highland Park 18-Years-Old
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Single Malt-Islay Lagavulin Distillers Edition
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY-Blended Dewar’s 18-Years-Old
Whisky – Canada
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Canadian Mist Black Diamond

CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY aged Cardenal Mendoza Brandy de Jerez 17-Years-Old, Spain
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY unaged Rémy Martin V Grape Spirit, France

Cognac – FRANCE

CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Delord 25-Years-Old Bas-Armagnac

Calvados – FRANCE
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Boulard Grand Solage VSOP Pays d’Auge

CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Fruit Merlet Crème de Cassis, Blackcurrant, France
CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Herbal Stroh Jagertee, Austria

CHAIRMAN’S TROPHY Lillet Rosé, France 


Back to the top »