Massachusetts Beverage Business



Vern Underwood, Chairman of the Board and CEO of Young’s Market Company, and Mark Brown, CEO of Sazerac Company, are the winners of the 2O12 Wholesaler Lifetime Leadership and Sidney Frank Awards, respectively, given annually by the Wine & Spirits Wholesalers of America (WSWA) and the WSWA Educational Foundation.  Both awards are dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments of leading figures in the beverage alcohol industry and were presented at WSWA’s 69th Annual Convention & Exposition held April 2 to 5 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas.  The Sidney Frank Award was presented by Charlie Merinoff, WSWA incoming Chairman, during the Opening General Session on April 3, and the Lifetime Leadership Award was presented on April 5 at the General Business Session by Craig Wolf, WSWA President and CEO. The Wholesaler Lifetime Leadership Award is given to the wholesaler “whose contribution to WSWA and the alcohol beverage industry defines excellence, inspires loyalty and exemplifies leadership”.  The Sidney Frank Award, an iconic bust of Sidney Frank sporting his famous bow tie, is presented by the WSWA Educational Foundation “to a person within the wine and spirits industry who has achieved noteworthy public policy or philanthropic accomplishments, as well as made exceptional contributions to the beverage alcohol industry”. A $1O,OOO contribution is given in the name of the award winner to the charitable cause of his or her choosing. Brown has designated the Louisville Zoo, with specific reference to the School at the Zoo program, for his contribution.

Back to the top »